dhanurasana

Recently I had a great postpartum spontaneous yoga flow in my studio, I mean kitchen. In this beautiful space I thought I might like to catalog my practice or inspirations on my blog, since I am not currently teaching anywhere at the moment.

One thing my 10 years as a bodyworker has taught me is that collective consciousness and experience(s), are a real deal. The proof for me has manifested in cyclical affects on mind-body energetic flow due to the season or cosmic forces.

Just think to yourself of the countless ways a lack, or an abundance of sun changes your mental or physical state of being. Provided, you live somewhere with seasons of course.

My intention is to share poses that support earth rhythms in alignment with my northwestern hemisphere region of life. This is my self study, writing furthers my understanding, and yet maybe it’ll help someone else in the long run. : )

My posts that begin with a yoga pose or practice in Sanskrit will more than likely be a part of this cataloging. I’ll also tag the posts asana. To save time, I am not going to go into detail as to how these yoga poses (asana) effect mind-body energy. Perhaps in other dedicated posts. But let the practice, and experience be the teacher moreso.

The current rhythm, in my corner of the world, is a returning of light/sun energy and richness of life from the earth in Spring.

Our bodies are receiving a greater potential to synergize our personal power/truth within Earth energies to make our deeper powers manifest.

These energies present through the expansive energies of our core (solar plexus) seeking connection downward, to the depth of our roots/Selves (hips, legs and feet) and beyond… to the nexus of Self and other, and Self and the Mother Earth.

These connections and relationships, can be observed and experienced by witnessing life and experience for what it IS in any moment, authentically sharing oneself plus an ability to be present for all cycles of the regeneration process.

Living, pure potential.

Here is an astrological forecast, and perspective of the current cosmic influences.Cosmic foo-foo. 😉

This was my practice this morning. The asana is not exact, to save time. But I’m posting the general and most relevant poses.

BEgin:
Sit comfortably and tall, breathe.

Chanting:
Om
Om Ma Durga
Ah, Om, Hung, Ram, Dzha (Tibetan Seed Syllables)

Asana:
Child’s pose (CP)
Prana flow/ Spinal “wave” free-flow (Moving through or similar to cat cow with a lot of personal interpretation.)
Cobra
CP
Down dog, dolphin
Plank on forearms
Dolphin
“Dolphin Dives” like little push-ups in Dolphin. In preparation for headstand, or for me the kramas (steps) to headstand.
CP
dhanurasana pose directions via YJ
rest, repeat 2 times
Dolphin
Plank on forearms
Dolphin
Dolphin Dives
Cobra
CP
Down dog
Mountain
Warrior 2, triangle
Repeat other side
Bridge (mini aka shoulders down)
rest, repeat 2 times
shavasana w mantra:
“I am forgiving. I am forgiven” spoken once.
shavasana meditation/release/ receptivity

Chant:
Om namah shivaya gurave
satchidananda murtaye
nishprapanchaya shantaya
niralambaya tejase
(I honor the essence of being, the auspicious one, the luminous teacher within and without, who assumes the forms of truth, consciousness, and bliss, is never absent, full of peace, ultimately free and sparkles with a divine luster.)

The result:
Heart open and cleansed. A stronger core. A present mind with deeper insight and determination, yet the added bonus of flexibility. Thank you union of self, heart and mind!

Here’s a photo of me that I took in my studio-kitchen inspired by the #fmsphotoaday challenge. Today’s theme is Shapes, which made me think of asana shapes! I was in triangle, trikonasana.
image

Leave a Reply

